Ice Cream with Kecap Manis Topping

I was watching chef Adrian Richardson on AFC yesterday when I heard that he’s using kecap manis, an Indonesian soy sauce. W00t? I never know that kecap manis is so exclusively belong to Indonesia. Of course it tickles my brain to search more about kecap manis on internet. And yep, it related to Indonesia and the foreigners called it kecap manis by its Indonesian name, not sweet soy sauce. Amazon sells it for approximately $10 for a bottle. The reviews are all positive and the users say that it’s worth it!

Here in Indonesia, kecap manis is like a must have item in the kitchen or on the top of dining table. Almost everything I eat use kecap manis in it and you can have it for not more than $1 for a bottle. It’s like 10 times more expensive when it’s exported. Wow, I’m so glad that Indonesia has a looooot of spices and cheap and delicious food!

Another thing that interest me is that one of the review says that he tried kecap manis on top of vanilla ice cream since the consistency of it is kind of similar with maple syrup. Is he like it? Yes. Hahaha. I laugh out loud when I first read that. Fries with ice cream is good, popcorn with ice cream is nice, but kecap manis with ice cream? Well, since I have leftover strawberry ice cream in my fridge, why don’t we try it?

And here’s the strawberry ice cream with kecap manis topping.

DSC_0079

It tastes weird to be honest. Maybe because of the wrong ratio between ice cream and kecap manis.

Not satisfied with the other day’s experiment, I did it again with chocolate ice cream. I put a lot of ice cream with only small amount of kecap manis, and it taste better! It is okay, a little bit salty, but I don’t think it’s good. I prefer eat my chocolate ice cream with sprinkles or chocolate sauce.

DSC_0083

Browse the internet again to know if there is somebody out there who tried ice cream with kecap manis, and found an ice cream parlor somewhere in this world that sells kecap manis ice cream, and the reviews are good! I wonder how they manage it :D

Leave a Reply

