Leatherworking with Everyday Tools

Holla! Finally I started trying leatherwork. After a failed attempt at buying leather few months ago, I finally found it online at smartyhands.com. Know it from reading an old issue of MS Living Indonesia. Why is it miss from my radar…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Well, I don’t have specific tools for leather, so I just gather things that I thought would make it. Cutter, pencil, drawing pen, binder clips, ruler, pliers, sewing scissors, needles, waxed thread, candle, nail pin and a piece of leftover board from our family woodworking last moment.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

First, I tried to make card holder as an experiment to know how to get everything right. And it appears that I need bigger nail pin to make a hole on leather. If you wonder what pliers has to do in this project, I used it to substitute the hammer since I couldn’t find it. Moreover, I need it to hoe the nail pin.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I learn the sewing technique from YouTube. Wohoo, I learn a lot from YouTube recently.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And this is the result. I think it’s pretty neat for the first attempt. Even though I still doubting its function. Well, I’m using leftover for this one.

The next thing that I want to made is… phone case! Well, leather case is so pricey, I would rather buy the kit than buy the product :p

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This is the final result. I put my initial on it. I kind of like it eventhough I’m not use it so often :D

Leave a Reply

